skip to primary navigationskip to content


The Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership (CISL) is part of the University of Cambridge. It is an institution within the School of Technology established by Ordinance of the General Board.

CISL's Management Board meets three times per year, and appoints its Advisory Board to give advice to CISL on long-term strategy and to act as a sounding board on further developments.

Management Board


Professor Richard Prager, Head of the School of Technology, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge


Professor Bill Adams, Moran Professor of Conservation, Department of Geography, University of Cambridge

Professor Carol Brayne, Director of the Institute of Public Health, University of Cambridge

Professor Sir Mike Gregory, Emeritus Professor, Dept. of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Professor Christoph Loch, Director of Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge

Dr Tim Minshall, Head of the Centre for Technology Management; Deputy Head of the Institute for Manufacturing

Professor Andy Neely, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Enterprise and Business Relations

Dame Fiona Reynolds, Master, Emmanuel College, University of Cambridge

Professor David Runciman – Head of Department, Department of Politics & International Studies

Professor Bill Sutherland, Miriam Rothschild Professor in Conservation Biology, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge

Professor Chris Young – Fellow, Pembroke College; Member of Department of German and Dutch, Faculty of Modern & Medieval Languages 


Dame Polly Courtice, DBE, LVO, Director, the Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership, University of Cambridge

Advisory Board


Andrew Bester, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Co-operative Bank Plc

Andy Clarke, Former President & CEO, Asda Stores Ltd

Connie Hedegaard, Former European Commissioner for Climate Action

Philippe Joubert, Former President of Alstom

José Lopez, Former Executive Vice President, Operations and GLOBE, Nestlé SA

Michael Naylor, Advisory Council, Actis Energy Funds

Fred Phaswana

Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, Vice President for Conservation Policy, Conservation International

Share this

RSS Feed Latest news

Working paper finds that better disclosures are needed to assess long-term orientation of investment funds

Mar 20, 2019

20 March 2019 – The Investment Leaders Group found that the data necessary to enable institutional and retail investors to assess the long-term orientation of the investment funds is not currently available.

HRH The Prince of Wales meets business leaders to explore new technologies to tackle plastic pollution

Mar 08, 2019

8 March 2019 – HRH The Prince of Wales met with business leaders from the CISL network this week to learn more about how biotransformation technology can help address plastic pollution at scale.

View all news