skip to primary navigationskip to content


The Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership (CISL) is part of the University of Cambridge. It is an institution within the School of Technology established by Ordinance of the General Board.

CISL's Management Board meets three times per year, and appoints its Advisory Board to give advice to CISL on long-term strategy and to act as a sounding board on further developments.

Management Board


Professor Chris A Gilligan, Department of Plant Sciences, Head of the School of Biological Sciences, University of Cambridge


Professor Bill Adams, Moran Professor of Conservation, Department of Geography, University of Cambridge

Professor Philip Allmendinger, Head of Department, Department of Land Economy

Professor Sir Mike Gregory, Head of Department, Institute for Manufacturing, Engineering Dept., University of Cambridge

Professor Paul Linden, Department of Applied Maths and Theoretical Physics (DAMPT), University of Cambridge

Professor Christoph Loch, Dean of Cambridge Judge Business School, University of Cambridge

Professor Richard Prager, Head of the School of Technology, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge

Dame Fiona Reynolds, Master, Emmanuel College, Cambridge

Professor Koen Steemers, Head of Department, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge

Professor Bill Sutherland, Miriam Rothschild Professor in Conservation Biology, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge


Polly Courtice LVO, Director, the Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership

Advisory Board


Sir Ian Cheshire, formerly Group Chief Executive, Kingfisher plc


Steve Almond, Managing Partner – International Markets, Deloitte & Touche

Alan Belfield, Group Board Director, Arup

Andrew Bester, Group Director, CEO Commercial Banking, Lloyds Banking Group

Andy Clarke, President & CEO, Asda Stores Ltd

Dame Amelia C Fawcett DBE, Chairman, The Prince of Wales's Charitable Foundation

Connie Hedegaard, Former European Commissioner for Climate Action

Philippe Joubert, Former President of Alstom

Gail Klintworth, Group Customer Director, Old Mutual Plc

José Lopez, Executive Vice President, Operations and GLOBE, Nestlé SA

Michael Naylor, Partner at Auriga Partnership

Tony O’Neill, Group Director of Technical and Sustainability, Anglo American

Fred Phaswana, Chairman, Standard Bank

Jonathon Porritt, Co-Founder, Forum for the Future

Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, Vice President for Conservation Policy, Conservation International